Lanarkshire Philatelic Society







Lanarkshire Philatelic Society hosted ASPS Congress in Perth in April 2017.  


ASPS President, Alan Wishart presided over the event.  


Thanks to the volunteers on the Thursday before the event, the frames and tables were ready in good time.



Host Society displays at ASPS Congress 2017



We also had volunteers who manned our table throughout the event:



Host Society table at ASPS Congress 2017 with Ken Norris, Shiela Sinclair, Elsie Miller & Raymond Baldock in attendance.



In the National Competition we had several winners:

David Cummings won Large Silver Gilt & Ferris Trophy in General Class – pre -1900 – Argentina: Corrientes State (1856-80).

Jean Osborne won the Jean Osborne Trophy and a Gold medal in the Cinderella class – Philatelic Congress Labels of GB 1920-40.

Brian Dow received the Tom Reilly medal and, along with Terry Woods, the Robson Lowe Salver in the Literature Class for the Lanarkshire book.

Terry Woods also won Bruce Auckland Quaich trophy and a Large Silver Gilt in the Scottish Postal History - Strathaven Postal History to 1906.

Alan Wishart Bronze Silver for Postal Rates for mail from France to Monaco 1790-1805.

Paul McGowan won the Iain Boyle Vase for Social Philately and a Small Silver Gilt for The Post from the Philatelic Service of the Netherlands.



Ellen Curries’ Vroom won the best display for the host society.


Thanks to all who helped