Lanarkshire Philatelic Society


"ASPS Congress, Perth"


Lanarkshire Philatelic Society has just successfully hosted the annual Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies Congress in Perth.

Congress President, and Lanarkshire member, Alex Macgowan, ably chaired all the various meetings prior to, and during, the event. The guest speaker was Bob Docherty from Summerlee Industrial Heritage Park, Coatbridge, which tied in well with the special Congress postcard and special handstamp featuring the first Airdrie/Coatbridge tramcar. Fellow Lanarkshire member, Ken Norris, was awarded the Tom Reilly Medal and provided a 10 frame display on material similar to Tom's interests. Another Lanarkshire member, Andy Robertson, was awarded the AeroPhilately Shield for his display on "A Comedy of French Errors".

Overall 43 Society members took part in the 60 frame host display. Participants included M. Allan, M. Lyth, E. & I. MacPherson, E. Currie, K. & M. Mathieson, E. Miller, E. Ross, A. Magowan, R. Eadie, K. Norris, G. Graham, W. Izett, P. McGowan, E. McLuckie, E. & S. Sankus, M. Pomeroy, B. Dow, C. Moffat, T. Woods, A. Wishart, K. Liddell, A. Kelly, A. Napier, R. Baldock, P. Longbottom, G. Cheyne, J. Bird, H. Bruce, M. Gibson, D. Haig, A. Holmes, A. Grimson, J. Martin, D. Matthews, S. Sinclair, A. Rushworth, H. Silvers, A. Tong, M. Touche and D. Wiltshire. 

Elsie Miller's display on "Deafness" was awarded the Blair Quaich for the best host society display.